Unboxing the Invisible Sun   1 comment

Don’t  you love getting presents in the mail? Especially if it’s something you’ve waited a couple of years for? I complained. I wrote to the company. And finally, I followed instructions, and voila! my Kickstarter copy of Invisible Sun from Monte Cook Games arrived at my door. Woo hoo! I spent over $200 supporting that kickstarter project so I would get the good stuff. And last week it finally came.

InvisibleSunBox6.28.18

This arrived, a big cardboard box weighing close to 30 pounds. I could hardly wait to open it up and see what it contained. I knew there would be a big black box inside.

Sun0

This piece of paper on the outside of the black box gave me an idea of what to expect.

Sun2

First look at the big black box, packed in a tough plastic bag.

Sun3

I’m just going to switch to pictures now. There’s a lot of stuff coming, and I really can’t explain it all.

Sun4

This is a very complicated box.

Sun5

Sun6

Two large drawers up above and a stack of books down below.

Sun7

Big black envelope. Two weeks later, I still haven’t opened this.

Sun8

Sun9

Cosmic plan . . . Shades of the Cabala!

Sun10

Mystic map. Different realms.

Sun11

I glanced inside. I haven’t really read it yet. I’m almost afraid to.

Sun12

Sun13

One thing we know about paths to enlightenment: THEY NEVER RUN STRAIGHT.

 

Sun14

Sun15

I haven’t opened this.

Sun16

I haven’t opened this either.

Sun17

Book marks.

Sun18

Objects! My favorite is the human-sized mystic hand. It is made of heavy plastic–almost feels like wood. This is sitting on top of my favorite bookcase right now. I have no idea what the cubes are needed for.

Sun19

4 decks of cards labeled Objects of Power. I have not opened them.

Sun20

Note that this is a left hand. Typically in occult lore, the left-hand path is associated with the demonology and dark, probably evil, spirits.

Sun21

Props remain to be discovered also.

Sun22

More props, more decks of cards–13 of them, surely no coincidence. Fancy poly-dice in the baggie at bottom right.

Sun23

Map of the City of Satyrine.

Sun24

We’ve seen this path before. This time it’s printed on cloth.

Sun25

More realia–physical objects included in the game. I like the Sooth Deck. Sooth is another ancient word for truth. The images on it are dark and mysterious. It makes me think of tarot decks.

Sun26

The most impressive prop in the whole huge box of stuff has to be the Hand. It now sits on top of all my most important game books.

I got a lot for my kickstarter pledge to Monte Cook Games. I am more than satisfied as a game collector with this product. Awesome is an adjective that scarcely does Invisible Sun justice. There are weeks of exploration left to me before I will feel capable of running this game for players. My game designer’s hat is off and held humbly in tribute to Monte Cook and his game designers and developers for this product. It leads me to believe that other Monte Cook games and projects are equally complex and interesting.

I may have bitten off more than I can swallow here. Wow!

Pray excuse the amateurish photography. I did it all myself with my cell phone.

End

P.S. If you own or have played Invisible Sun, please feel free to leave a comment.

–Ken St. Andre, July 7, 2018

 

Posted July 7, 2018 by atroll in Uncategorized

One response to “Unboxing the Invisible Sun

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cushlomachree! I’d be terrified to try to run that game! TnT spoiled me forever for simplicity in rules and rulings over rules! But I would find some use for all those props, you betchum Red Ryder!!

Leave a comment