Cowboy Corner in Camp Verde   2 comments

On Thursday, July 9, 2015, I set off to explore the town of Camp Verde and to drive over the Mogollon Rim. Camp  Verde isn’t very large as towns go, but it had 4 distinct places of interest in it. The place that generated the most interest was a combinatin antiques and cowboy supply store is called Cowboy Corner. Main Street in Camp Verde is about half a mile long. Cowboy Corner is at the south end of town.

This is Amy. She worked the cash register in Cowboy Corner, answered my questions, and told me quite a lot about Camp Verde. I greatly enjoyed talking to her.

This is Amy. She worked the cash register in Cowboy Corner, answered my questions, and told me quite a lot about Camp Verde. I greatly enjoyed talking to her.

Here's the front of the store.

Here’s the front of the store.

This old cart also served as a sign for the store.

This old cart also served as a sign for the store.

This brightly colored rain barrell sat on the sidewalk outside . . .

This brightly colored rain barrell sat on the sidewalk outside . . .

. . . as did this bucket full of gold. Gold is apparently so ordinary in Camp Verde that people just leave it sitting around in the open.

. . . as did this bucket full of gold. Gold is apparently so ordinary in Camp Verde that people just leave it sitting around in the open.

Inside the store was full of all kinds of fascinating and colorful stuff. I walked around and admired it all, and took pictures of what I liked the best. Here’s a bunch of it. Doesn’t really need any commentary.

CCStein CCRooster CCKachina CCSoldiers CCShakers CCGlassware CCTrain2 CCtrain1 CCBookends

I really only took pictures of the antiques, and only the best of that. In addition there were more saddles than I’d ever seen in one place before, and quite a lot of belts, including cartridge belts, also bridles, bits, spurs, rope, and other things a cowboy might find useful. And there were wall-mounted trophies, The buffalo head was the best of them, but if you like taxidermy, and wanted a head or two for the study or the bunkhouse, including some that were just skulls, this would be the place to get them.

CCBuffalo

I did wind up buying two things, a heavy-duty bottle opener, no big deal, and a one-armed bandit slot machine bank. The bank is a lot of fun and will give me an interesting place to drop my spare coins. It works, and it’s a hoot to watch the tumblers revolve. Who knows? It may even pay off some day.

slotmachine

_____________________________________________________________

If  you enjoy exploring antique stories in remote corners of your state, or if you own any slot machines of your own, why not leave a comment?

–end

Posted July 11, 2015 by atroll in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cowboy Corner in Camp Verde

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it was 1968 or 1969 when I stopped at Verde – I don’t remember the “Camp,” but it’s been more than 40 years – and though I don’t remember the name of the antique store (We called them “junk shops” back then.) that’s where I picked up a very good copy of the 1964 Giant Batman and a Dick Ayers Ghost Rider. These days, I doubt they even carry comics in such shops.

  2. Hi! Amy here from Cowboy Corner in Camp Verde, Az. Thankyou so much for sharing this with everyone. It was very nice meeting you and talking with you about your adventures on the road. We hope to see you in the future!!! From all of us here at Cowboy Corner, we wish safe travels, good luck and prosperity to you. If you had any questions, please just let me know.

Leave a Reply

