Saturday, May 9, 2015   Leave a comment

Saturday was a very busy day for me.

First, I went to see the Avengers Age of Ultron movie with my friend Daniel Horton and my son James St. Andre. Terrific action movie. I’m not reviewing it here. If you’re a Marvel fan, you should see it. My one comment is that the movie has almost noting in common with the big apocalyptic Marvel crossover series that inspired it.

This is a graphic novel compilation of the original Age of Ultron series from early 2014. Because I saw the movie today, I wound up buying the graphic novel later in the afternoon when I visited the Poisoned Pen bookstore.

This is a graphic novel compilation of the original Age of Ultron series from early 2014. Because I saw the movie today, I wound up buying the graphic novel later in the afternoon when I visited the Poisoned Pen bookstore.

After the movie I had James take this picture of Daniel and me standing gy the Age of Ultron display inside the theater.

I had just received my first Marvel Collectors package in the mail a few days before. This seemed like the perfect opportunity to wear the  Ultron t-shirt that came in it. These collectors t-shirts will be relatively rare, but they are also very light anc cheaply made, so I can't wear it much or it will wear out too quickly.

I had just received my first Marvel Collectors package in the mail a few days before. This seemed like the perfect opportunity to wear the Ultron t-shirt that came in it. These collectors t-shirts will be relatively rare, but they are also very light and cheaply made, so I can’t wear it much or it will wear out too quickly. In case you don’t know me, I’m the man with the hat.

After the movie we decided to go to lunch together. My suggestions of the CostCo food court or Denny’s at 35th Avenue and Bethany Home were not chosen. Instead we went to a Vietnames Restaurant that Daniel knew about located at 17th Ave. and Camelback, about 1 mile from the theater. James and I had never eaten in a Viet restaurant before. He had a sub sandwich. I ordered the same thing Daniel ordered, and it was delicious.

Food.

Food.

Drink. The coffee brews itself right in front of you. Very strong and sweet and served over ice. You can see the finished product in the picture above.

Drink. The coffee brews itself right in front of you. Very strong and sweet and served over ice. You can see the finished product in the picture above.

Here I am enjoying lunch. My glasses only have one lens in them these days after cataract surgery on my right eye a couple of weeks ago. I will get the left eye corrected on May 12, 2015 and quit wearing these glasses entirely.

Here I am enjoying lunch. My glasses only have one lens in them these days after cataract surgery on my right eye a couple of weeks ago. I will get the left eye corrected on May 12, 2015 and quit wearing these glasses entirely.

The restaurant is just a hole in the wall place in a little strip mall, but it has a lot of beautiful art inside.

The restaurant is just a hole in the wall place in a little strip mall, but it has a lot of beautiful art inside.

Later in the afternoon, I went to Scottsdale to participate in the grand opening of Cafe 64–an upscale bistro co-owned by my friend Scott Hagen.

Here I am arriving at the Cafe 64 about 4:30 p.m. The table on the far right is where I wound up sitting and talking to the guys sitting there.

Here I am arriving at the Cafe 64 about 4:30 p.m. The table on the far right is where I wound up sitting and talking to the guys sitting there.

The place was really very busy. It had all the customers it could handle.

The place was so busy that I could not get a table inside or even a seat at the bar.

The place was so busy that I could not get a table inside or even a seat at the bar.

Although the place was jammed, Scott took a few minutes to talk to me. He got me a dark chocolate beer and I bought a souvenir jug from him. It features an art pun done by artist Steve Crompton, and has a tentacle on it along with a picture of Howard Phillips Lovecraft. The bar is called Craft 64. Get it? We love Craft.

Scott is the perfect restauranteur host.

Scott is the perfect restauranteur host.

Here he is showing off what I think is a very unusual souvenir item. I don’t think I’ve ever been tempted to buy a big old moonshine jug before.

Scott seemed quite proud of this jug. I think it must have been his idea, and he got our friend Crompton to do the art for it.

Scott seemed quite proud of this jug. I think it must have been his idea, and he got our friend Crompton to do the art for it.  See the tentacle. We love tentacles–they are kind of a fannish joke favorite of mine.

I got a drink and had to go outside to find a place to sit and drink it.  This guy, Victor, gave me a Phoenix Ale beer glass. Last time I got one of these was at the grand opening of the Changing Hands bookstore in Phoenix, and that one cost me $10. Getting one for free was nice. These glasses are the perfect size for holding a bottle of beer.

Victor, another hat guy, and a contact for me at the Phoenix Ale brewery.

Victor, another hat guy, and a contact for me at the Phoenix Ale brewery.

I wound up taking home glass from my trip to Craft 64. They also make great gourmet pizza, but I was in no mood to wait around to get one.  So one glass of dark beer and out–see what a moderate guy I am?

I like the way Lovecraft seems to be peeking over the Phoenix Ale sign. Talk about the Mountains of Madness . . .

I like the way Lovecraft seems to be peeking over the Phoenix Ale sign. Talk about the Mountains of Madness . . .

I finished my drink, only 1/3 empty in the picture above, and walked back to my car, which I had cleverly left in the parking lot of the Poisoned Pen bookstore. Because I love bookstores, I had to go inside before going home. I was hoping to see a friend that I used to work with at Mesquite Branch Library some 7 years ago.

I was in luck. My friend Patrick King was on duty that afternoon. It was pretty slow, but he actually had to take a phone call and do a little work while I was there.

I was in luck. My friend Patrick King was on duty that afternoon. It was pretty slow, but he actually had to take a phone call and do a little work while I was there.

That gave me a reason to just wander around the store and take pictures of books and things that looked interesting.

Star Wars for young readers . . .

Star Wars for young readers . . .

I don't know what the book is really about, but I loved the cover and Collins is a mystery writer.

I don’t know what the book is really about, but I loved the cover and Collins is a mystery writer.

The bookstore brings in a lot of well-known authors to do signings. I have attended a couple of them, and if I were a true mystery fan, I could see better authors than me at least four times a month or more.  I missed somebody that day. The celeb was there at 2 p.m. and I came in a bit after 5.  Truth is, I’m not that big a mystery fan.

8 X 10 glossies of some of the authors that have been there, and a whole section of autographed first editions for those who collect such things.

8 X 10 glossies of some of the authors that have been there, and a whole section of autographed first editions for those who collect such things.

And now, here’s something you probably never expected to see–the inside of the Poisoned Pen bathroom. And yes, there is a bookstore cat, but this one doesn’t require any kibbles and bits.

I don't know why the cat is trying to get into the garbage can.

I don’t know why the cat is trying to get into the garbage can.

Parker has pride of place here. :)

Parker has pride of place here. 🙂 Even though Parker has been dead since 2010, his best creation, P.I. Spenser continues. 

By the end of the day I had spent about $70 enjoying myself, but this is how I felt, and I think it was worth it.

Ok, too much good stuff. Time to wrap it up, and go home.

Ok, too much good stuff. Time to wrap it up, and go home.

Home again, home again where I could now watch the Agents of Shield episode that tied into the Avengers movie I saw in the morning.  All in all, Saturday was an excellent day for me.

***********************************************************************************

If you’ve had a really good day lately, why not leave a comment?

–end

Posted May 10, 2015 by atroll in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

