Glendale Sunday Morning Columbus Day 2014   Leave a comment

I don’t always go walking along mosquito-infested river parks, or through desert mountains. Sometimes I like to wander along the decaying streets of the inner city–especially in small towns like Glendale. I needed a walk this morning, and thought that downtown Glendale is a colorful place. However, my camera wasn’t working–it seems to be kind of touchy, and I even had some difficulty getting my cellphone to take pix. However, I got some. Here they are, with commentary.

Only in Arizona would a saguaro cactus wear a cowboy hat and try to sell you used cars. Hello, Cactus Jack!

Only in Arizona would a saguaro cactus wear a cowboy hat and try to sell you used cars. Hello, Cactus Jack!

Typical Glendale/West Phoenix restaurant.

Typical Glendale/West Phoenix restaurant.

American flag at half mast in honor of firefighters who have died in the line of duty--a national day of remembrance sort of thing.

American flag at half mast in honor of firefighters who have died in the line of duty–a national day of remembrance sort of thing.

Glendale City Hall as seen from its parking garage. The sun was so bright that I couldn't tell if I was actually getting any pix on my phone. The garage was dark enough inside that I could actually see my phone screen.

Glendale City Hall as seen from its parking garage. The sun was so bright that I couldn’t tell if I was actually getting any pix on my phone. The garage was dark enough inside that I could actually see my phone screen.

Glendale City Hall, the most modern building in town.

Glendale City Hall, the most modern building in town.

There's a scarecrow farmer with a pumpkin head in this window, but what I got was mostly a reflection of the Glendale Public Library across the street.

There’s a scarecrow farmer with a pumpkin head in this window, but what I got was mostly a reflection of the Glendale Public Library across the street.

Giant pretzel in German beergarden in Mexican Glendale.

Giant pretzel in German beergarden in Mexican Glendale.

Cowboy lawman on the trail of burgers and shakes.

Cowboy lawman on the trail of burgers and shakes.

 

As it is the middle of October, Halloween decorations are starting to appear everywhere. I missed getting them today, but I think I might go back with the idea of just getting the macabre decorations put out especially for the season.

*********************

If you’ve ever been to Glendale, Arizona, or . . . if  you like to wander around small towns and take pix, why not leave a comment?

–end

Posted October 12, 2014 by atroll in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

