The Pegasus Letters   6 comments

There was a time back in the 80s when I thought I had found an excellent place to put some of my writing–Judges Guild was doing their own variety gaming magazine called Pegasus. I liked it a lot, and I tried submitting to it. I did get a couple of things published in it–find them if you can.

Going through my old papers and documents, I found this material. I thought it might interest some people to see it, and so I have scanned it, and am putting it here.

Letters from the editor at Pegasus Magazine came in envelopes that looked like this.

I have found 3 letters from Pegasus that came within a two month period in 1982. I’ve forgotten the details, but the letters give a snapshot of my activity at the time, and some of my hopes and dreams as a writer back then when the would was young.

Murder at the Ruptured Troll was first published in Pegasus Magazine. I have tried to get it republished in other places. My best rejection letter came from Jane Yolen. It made her laugh, but I don’t think she quite understood the Tunnels & Trolls world being portrayed, as it didn’t make the cut for her anthology.

I had my own unique stationery at the time. Ernest Hogan drew this logo for me. He was always great with tentacles!

As you can see, I was setting myself up to be a continuing contributor.

And that’s all I have left from my involvement with Pegasus. Why did I stop writing for them? Did I lose interest? Did they reject something and turn me away? I don’t remember. I vaguely remember being quite proud of my 2 contributions to Imperial Pegasus Magazine, and also very pleased to see some other T & T related items published there once in a while. I do know that I didn’t try as hard as I should have to write for the gaming mags back then, and I’m kind of sorry now. I could have done a lot more, but . . .

If you ever wrote articles for Imperial Pegasus, or any other gaming magazine, or even if you just read them once in a while, please leave a comment.

–end

6 responses to “The Pegasus Letters

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My best guess about why you stopped writing for them, well, it looks like when Judges’ Guild tried a brief comeback in the late 1990s, they released Pegasus Issues #13 and 14, suggesting that they were probably not around too much longer after your submissions were published.

  2. I’m undecided if it’s trash or cash for these items. Maybe you stopped writing for them because the reimbursement was only $17.17.

  3. I hope you keep the scans for you records. A paper archive is difficult to arrange and keep . . . the digital version could be kept around forever.

  4. Isn’t the Internet big enough to have a web site for archiving everything and anything? Surely there’s a place on the web for such gems as discussion about how many nipples can be included in a fiction mag. That’s priceless stuff! Is there a KStA-based wiki or something? Why the heck not?

  5. Thanks for sharing!
    FWIW, Ed Mortimer is online too — but not in gaming…
    http://edmortimer.wordpress.com/

  6. Thank you, Ken, for the walk down memory lane! I had completely forgotton about the Nipple Limit! I hope you are doing well. Your writing was a welcome addition to the Pegasus! As for why you stopped writing for us, well, maybe because shortly after the time of these letters Judges Guild had to downsize drastically. We had been trying to survive against Gygax and TSR (Gygax wanted to buy JG, but when Bob Bledsaw refused Gygax raised our license fee for “Official” D&D/AD&D products by a factor of 10, and blacklisted us within the industry). Bob tried to hang on til the day he died — Judges Guild was never truly defunct as long as Bob was alive, but it was dormant for long stretches. Working for JG was one of the best times of my life. After JG I did some freelance work, worked for Bard Games for a while (did not end well), worked seven years modding Steel Panthers: World War 2 & Steel Panthers: Modern Battle Tank, and worked with Troika Games on “Arcanum: Of Steamworks and Magic Obscura”. But, like you, sometimes I wish I had worked harder at it when I had the opportunity — but at the time it felt like it would last forever.

Leave a Reply

