Halloween in Arizona   Leave a comment

Halloween has become a marketer’s paradise.  How did something that was supposed to be dark, scary, and spiritual turn into something so light, bubbly, and kitschy?  That’s America for you.

I’ve been taking a few pictures this Halloween season.  I thought I’d share the look of Halloween in my neck of the desert.

I never got inside this store.

 

Haunted House at Fry's Market. Inside is a large-screen tv playing spooky Scooby-Doo episodes.

 

The best costume I've seen before Halloween Night is the Keebler Elf. What a nice guy! He gave me cookies, and I wasn't even trick-or-treating.

 

 

Haunted Pumpkin. The ghost works for a candy company.

 

And that’s really all I got.  There are other Halloweeny things to be seen around here, but I didn’t have my camera with me when I saw them.  My plan for tonight is to gather my small family, go visit a friend, leaving my place cold and dark.  Looks like I’ve lost the Halloween spirit.  I’d rather hide from it than participate.

end

Posted October 31, 2010 by atroll in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

