Web Comix   3 comments

I love comics–have been buying and accumulating them all my life. I say accumulating because I don’t really do the whole collectors routine with bags and boards–that’s a good way to spend more money on preservation than the comic itself will ever be worth.

And then along came the internet and artists started putting their material online. I love it.  What better way could there be to get your material seen and perhaps purchased?  There are thousands of web comics now–some of them are great, and some are terribly weak. There are comics for all tastes. I like them. I approve of them. I wish I had the talent and perseverance to create one myself.

So, for your entertainment I present my top five web comix. These are all great, and I recommend them to you if you like comics at all.

 

Phil and Kaja Foglio have been doing funny, sexy, inventive comics for decades now. This is the best kind of science fiction–highly original, character driven, and wild.  Phil doesn’t give us a bunch of talking heads–he gives us action, romance, wild escapes, brilliant schemes.    This is the kind of action that can be found at http://girlgeniusonline.com.

 

The Foglios also offer several other amazing web comics including Mythadventures and Buck Godot.

 

The misadventures of Skeeve and the demon can be found at http://www.airshipentertainment.com/mythcomic.php.

There is a kind of comics convention that our heroes and heroines be young and good-looking. You can certainly see that in Girl Genius. Phil is talented enough to play against conventions with Buck Godot–who is a fat space detective. Buck is lazy, corrupt, and very very smart. Ya gotta love him.

There you have a few samples of the Foglio works. There are more if you seek them out. It is all brilliant and amazing stuff–the writing is every bit as good as the art. If you don’t read it, you are missing the best of the web.

From the sublime to the ridiculous, let’s take a look at:

 

This is dungeons and dragons done with stick figures as a continuing comic. Note that this latest installment is number 735.  I would really, really like to read the whole thing from the beginning, but I don’t have that much time. The plots are involved; the characters grow on you; even the bad guys and monsters have their own personalities and charm. It’s amazing what a good story teller can do with stick figures.  You can find this at: http://www.giantitp.com/Comics.html.

From heroic fantasy to  erotic fantasy. The story of Curvy is just plain yummy. Our heroine is about to get lost in a dream at http://www.c.urvy.org/?date=20080329.

Returning to Earth, I find the kind of fantasy that working people have every day–the grotesque idea that we could actually treat the public or the people we work for and with as they deserve to be treated.  Deweu is the kind of librarian I wish I could be, but I would be cruicified if I ever let my sense of sarcasm go as far as he does.

The public may love them, but real librarians mostly hate their photocopy machines. They are constantly running out of paper, getting jammed, or finding some other way to go wrong. Look for librarian adventures as we only wish they could be at: http://www.unshelved.com/.

And for my last example of web comic brilliance, let’s get something from a gaming legend. Let’s go into the world of gaming with Dork Tower–things that have oft been thought, but ne’er so well expressed before.

You could go to http://www.dorktower.com/2001/01/01/comics-archive-1/, start reading, and never get bored.

Am I preaching to the choir here? Probably. You wouldn’t have looked at this blog if you weren’t interested in web comics to begin with.  But, I wanted to get this tribute posted, and I’ll tell you all about Trollcon next time.

Leave a comment and tell me about your own favorite web comic and I’ll award you a no-prize, suitable for bagging and boarding and keeping with the rest of your treasures.

End

Posted July 24, 2010 by atroll in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Web Comix

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As with everything else on the Internet, there is too much stuff to see and nowhere near enough time to see it all! Web Comics I like are:

    xkcd – smart and funny. love the science. Real stick figures!
    PVP – Another comic that tickles my funny bone.
    User Friendly – One of the longest running web comics. Hilarious computer geek humor.
    Penny Arcade – often crude and rude but can be bitingly sarcastic and always funny.
    CTRL-ALT-DLT – Another funny, well written and drawn geek oriented comic.

  2. Hmm, well I love Phil and Kaja Foglio ( especially Buck Godot & Whats New ), however I would be remiss to not mention Aaron Williams wonderful trilogy of comics found at

    http://nodwick.humor.gamespy.com/index.htm

    Nodwick, PS238 & Full Frontal Nerdity can put a smile on even the most craggy visage.

    Alina Pete does two wonderful comics

    http://www.weregeek.com/
    &
    http://www.mooseheadstew.com/
    Delightful & whimsical entertainment for the Nerd in us all.

    And finally I’m a big fan of Dan Shive’s El Goonish Shive

    http://www.egscomics.com/

    A rollicking adventure full of silly fun and only the most serious of nonsense!

    Toad-Killer Dog
  3. Axe Cop: Drawn by a very talented artist, age 29. Written by his six-year-old brother. As shallow as possible but still hilarious for everyone who remembers what it was to be a boy.

    http://axecop.com

    Dr. McNinja: The art is pretty good and the writing is amazing. I gave this one up after an horrific anti-semitic incident a while back. Most people haven’t. This might be the most inventive, interesting and funny web comics.

    http://drmcninja.com

Leave a Reply

