World’s Finest   2 comments

June was a big month for D.C. Comics. Two landmark issues came out–Batman number 700  and Superman number 700.  Neither Superman nor Batman are my favorite characters in the D.C. universe. I always liked Green Lantern, Flash, and Green Arrow more.  But, I bought both books.

 

I hate to say it, but there really isn’t anything very memorable in Batman 700. There are stories of Batman past, present, and future. I think it’s a bad idea to create future continuity for superhero comics.  Dick Grayson is Batman now, but we all know that Bruce Wayne is coming back, though hell and the entire universe stand in his way. I am not privy to D.C.’s plans for its characters, but if Bruce Wayne comes back, I hope he retires. It is Dick Grayson’s turn to be Batman, and a one or two year run in the title really doesn’t do it for me.

I haven’t been following Superman very closely for the last couple of  years. I never follow him very closely. I find out what happened in graphic novels 2 to 5 years after the stories originally came out. I know that Superman has been living on New Krypton. I know he returns to Earth just in time to save Lois Lane from the Parasite. Lois and Clark together again–that gives me a warm feeling. It feels right. Joe Stracyzinski is a lucky guy to get to write that story.

But, you know, it’s just a return to the old status quo. The more things change, the more they stay the same, especially in the D.C. universe.  I bought Batman and Superman 700 because they were milestones in the history of the characters. But they aren’t very big milestones. Two weeks after the event, I kinda wish I had my $10 back.

End

Posted June 28, 2010 by atroll in Uncategorized

2 responses to “World’s Finest

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When you advertised this blog entry you promised sex and violence, nudity and witty dialog! You fooled me! All I got was witty dialog (I wish I had my $10 back was the best part). Pwnd by the trollgod!

  2. Heh, apparently the advertisement was for the entry after this one. It finally showed up. Ok now I see the sex, violence and nudity. LOL

Leave a Reply

