A Tale of Trolls   1 comment

I got a present in the mail yesterday.  Alf Seegert sent me a copy of his Bridge Troll board game, and I sent him a copy of Tunnels & Trolls 7.5.  Why this exchange of gifts? Is it National Troll Day or Month? Not that I know of . . . I wonder if there is a National Troll Day, perhaps in Denmark or Norway.  Hmmm!

I haven’t had a chance to play this game yet. I have heard and read good things about it.  I hope to have a chance to play it soon.

I have Google working for me. I’ve placed a number of alerts with them, and they tell me when such key phrases as Tunnels & Trolls, Ken St. Andre, and Trollhalla are mentioned anywhere. The first one is my game, published in various editions by Flying Buffalo, Inc. and FieryDragon, Inc.  The second is me. If someone is talking about me, I want to know about it. (That’s partly ego, and partly self-defense, and partly business promotion–I do sell things like my games and stories and am always looking for new ways or places to market them.)  The third one is the name of my club for Tunnels & Trolls players on the internet. You can find it here: http://trollhalla.com.  That is a pretty distinctive name. I searched the internet when I made it up, and the only other Trollhalla that I found was a guest cottage at a hotel in Europe somewhere.  I’ve been running Trollhalla since about 2002.  Imagine my surprise when I found this game already being advertised though it hasn’t been published yet.

I have to admit that my feelings were a bit hurt to see my fanclub name being appropriated for someone else’s game. I know I don’t own the concept of trolls, and I’m happy to see other gamers do things with it, but . . .

So, I made a bit of a humorous complaint about it on Twitter.com where I am known as Trollgodfather. (a joke perpetuated on me by Moonwolf95).

A few hours later I got a very nice email from Alf Seegert, the game’s designer. I explained my hurt, and offered a few other names for the game like: Trollholla, Trollhaula, and since they are trollish vikings, Trollhulla. (That’s a pun, Son) Nope. The game is already too far along in production to change the name.

It turns out that Alf was influenced by Tunnels and Trolls back in the 80s, but moved away from the game as he got older. I hear that a lot. But he remembered it fondly.

Through an exchange of emails, we quickly became friends. After all, we have a lot in common. We’re both game designers with a fondness for trolls. He offered to send me his game; I offered to send him mine. Voila! Game exchange! This is what I sent him.

I also talked Alf into joining Trollhalla, where he will be known as Grrralf. I have a lot of talented people in Trollhalla, and I’m very proud of that.  Working together, we make gaming better for everyone.

We also have a possible trollish alliance forming. There are several game companies that use the word Troll as part of  their company name or product.  I think it would be awesome if we all cross-promoted each other. I’m working on that part.

It just goes to show what can happen when there’s a bit of freindly communication. No lawyers need be involved, and it will turn out to be a win-win situation for all of us.

And that deseves a big TROLLISH GRIN!

–end

Posted June 10, 2010 by atroll in Uncategorized

One response to “A Tale of Trolls

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Trolls are uniting! Run away!

    It’s great to hear that in this increasingly litigious age things can still be resolved amicably and new friendships formed. Warms the cockles of my heart, it does.

Leave a Reply

