Priestess of Avalon   Leave a comment

 

Back in the day, I used to read one or more books every day. Now it’s a feat and an accomplishment if I get one read every three months. Where did the time go, and the reading?  The internet ate all my reading time.

But, I finished Priestess of Avalon this morning after some three months of working on it, a page or two at a time, all at the library on breaks, lunch hours, etc. This is a book I had no business reading. It’s a woman’s book, written by a woman (or maybe two) for women about women dealing with women’s mysteries.  Although it is a historical fantasy set in the 3rd century Roman Empire of Constantine the Great, it’s really an extended work about the Triple Goddess, Maiden, Mother, and Crone as personified by Helena, the mother of Constantine.  She starts as a young acolyte of the Priestesses of Avalon, and ends as a very old woman returning to the mystic isle.

There is a great deal in this book about the Goddess–the Creative Life Force of the world.  If you read for understanding, you will come away with a very good idea of what goddess-worship is all about. You’ll also get an excellent historial novel with insight into how people thought 1700 years ago when the world was changing from pagan to christian. 

I thought about doing some discussion and philosophizing about the Goddess Worship in this review, but the more I think about it, the more I think it’s not my place to do that.  I’m a man, and if I think I know a few things about Woman, it’s probably better if I just keep them to myself and enjoy those rare moments when the Goddess deigns to bless me.

If you are a woman with a flair for mysticism, you should definitely read this book. If you are a man who’s willing to cross gender boundaries of understanding, then you, too can read it. If you’re a sword and sorcery fan, forget it.

Recommended for mystics.  Bradley, Marion Zimmer and Diana Paxson (who did most of the writing, I thnk). PRIESTESS OF AVALON. New York, Roc, c2002. 394 p.

Posted March 23, 2010 by atroll in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

