A Message from the Overmind?   3 comments

Yay, I finished a book today.  I’m always happy to notch another one.  Today’s book was THE KING’S GOLD by Arturo Perez-Reverte.  This is the third in a series of tales about a hard-bitten Spanish swordsman named Diego Alatriste, called Captain Alatriste by his friends, although he is not a real captain.  This is a short historical novel, and no epic.  The whole book is really about a single adventure–the violent capture of a treasure ship by a band of ruffians and thieves in the temporary service of the King of Spain, who wants the money for himself.  It’s light reading, but entertaining.  I have now read three of the Captain Alatriste novels, and I don’t think the fourth one has been published in English yet.  I could read it in Spanish if I could find a copy, but I might have to go to Spain to do that.

I finished a big graphic novel on Sunday: Magician: Apprentice.  This is the story of Pug, greatest wizard of Midkemia when he was a boy.  This is a comic adaptation of a novel by Ray Feist.  I know Ray Feist; he knows me. It’s not a great friendship since we live in separate states, but we are both frp gamers.  Ray is one of a very few American gamers to turn his games into best-selling novels, and they were good ones.  I’ve read them all, and I recommend Ray Feist to anyone who likes strong fantasy in the old heroic style.  A picture may be worth a thousand words, but graphic novels are no substitute for the books they illustrate.  Scenes have to be carefully chosen to carry the story, and the true depth of world-building and character development that are what novels do best is only hinted at.

In other news, Tor sent me a free book today.  It’s a handsome trade paperback reprint of Five Hundred Years After by Steven Brust.  If you ever wondered what an empire of nigh-immortal elves would be like, you owe it to yourself to find the Dragaeran novels.  There are 17 of them.  If Alexandre Dumas wrote sword and planet fantasy, he might well have produced these books.  It seems like a lot of things have been bringing me back to Alexandre Dumas lately–the Captain Alatriste books, the Musketeer mysteries, and now Tor sends me this epic tome.  Is the universe trying to tell me something?  Am I being subtly ordered to reread the Dumas books that I enjoyed so much as a teenager?  So little time, so many books!

End.

Posted August 25, 2009 by atroll in Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Message from the Overmind?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! A new Brust is cause for celebration. I need to read his stuff I still have in my read pile.

  2. I read Feist’s Magician novels when they came out and enjoyed them greatly. I was just getting into my fascination with Japan at that point, so it added to the enjoyment.

  3. Alatriste made for a darned fine film, as well.
    –Vigo!

Leave a Reply

