Reading and Read   Leave a comment

This is my second blog.  I’m still learning how these WordPress controlls work, so it’s not gonna be too smooth or beautiful.  Also, I’m not on my own computer at home, so my resources are more limited.

I want to say that I have always been a comics fan. I wish I was an artist and could create really great sequential art, but I don’t have the patience or the talent or the time.  I’m better as a writer.  I would have liked to write comics, but somehow I never quite made the leap.  I guess I didn’t want it enough.  Anyway, a fair amount of what I report on here in Atroll’s Entertainment will be comics.  And since I work at a library, and a lot of what I read is graphic novels, it will be graphic novel reports.

Things I have finished reading recently: Endless Blue by Wen Spencer.  Wen is an accomplished writer.  She does urban fantasy and space opera equally well–that is, good enough to be published, not good enough to make any best seller lists.  This one was a space opera about a Russian starship captain marooned inside a Dyson sphere in a location outside the normal universe.  If he can conquer his own psychological problems (he’s the clone of the ruler of the Russian space empire) and some incidental villainy and the misunderstandings inherent in dealing with new cultures he might just escape and save humanity from extinction at the hands of a berserk alien race that has lost its soul.  Yeah, right.  I could buy it  while I was reading it, but when I got done, there was kind of a bad taste in my mouth.

Also finished: The Flash: The Human Race by Grant Morrison.  This wasn’t one of Morrison’s better tales.  Cosmic gamblers pit the Flash (Wally West) against his imaginary childhood friend Krakkyl from Radioland in a race throughout time and space.  He also has to somehow cheat the Black Flash, a personification of death, and rescue his girl friend from a lightning bolt.  Morrison just piles the absurdities ever higher.  Oh well, it’s superhero comics–check your brain at the door, or the front cover.  Mark Millar is co-writer on this one.  Don’t know if that’s Mark Millar the game designer or not.  Gotta be hard to write for the Flash, though.  Superspeed is like the ultimate super power.

Also finished: The Runaways: Live Fast by Brian Vaughan.  Graphic novel doing several issues of Marvel’s Runaways comic.  The runaways are a bunch of teen-agers, children of a group of super-villains known as the Pride.  These villains were so good at what they did that they lived their lives of crime without ever being detected by the superheroes of the world.  Teen-aged angst, agony, and humor mixed in equal proportions.  These kids goof up a lot.  It doesn’t simplify things that two of them are aliens.  Fun reading. Better than The Flash.

Currently reading: One Day on Mars by Travis S. Taylor.  Future space war–Earth vs. breakaway Martian colonists.  I’m on page 327.  This book is pro-military bullshit, and if I never finish it, I won’t care.

Currently reading: The Musketeer’s Apprentice by Sarah D’Almeida.  This pastiche focuses on Porthos and continues the adventures of D’Artagnan and the Three Musketeers.  Fun.  P. 196.

Currently reading: The Veil of a Thousand Tears by Eric Van Lustbader. P. 289.  Alien sword and planet adventure–no humans in the book.  I’m stalled and may not get back to it.

Currently reading: The Book of Swords by Hank Reinhardt.  P. 93.  Fascinating true information about swords–good stuff for fantasy game designers to know.

There’s more, but I’m out of time.

Posted August 13, 2009 by atroll in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

